VelopoldVIENNA

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp

The Ring Road Tour

Our tour through the heart of Vienna!

By Ermeas

A little time travel by bike.

From our store you can reach the Ringstrasse in less than 15 min by bike and then you can't get out of the jam.

We move along the Ringstraße, a Städlbaulchen Gesamtkunstwerk with a length of about 5km. Away from the traffic, we cycle along cycle paths from one sight to the next.

The first highlight is a monumental building with a huge eagle on the roof, the former War Ministry of the Habsburgs, under whose regency Vienna rose to the 3 most powerful metropolises in Europe, but which also had to answer for the end of the monarchy.

Just opposite, and dating from the same period, is a pearl of Art Nouveau by Otto Wagner, the Vienna Post Office Savings Bank. The tour continues to Cafe Prückel, a legendary Ringstrasse cafe with a popular outdoor seating area, from which one has a good view of the Lueger monument. He was a popular mayor who did a lot for the modernization of the city, but today is controversial because of his political anti-Semitism.

We continue cycling along the city park, the largest green oasis in the densely built city center, past the Waltz King Monument, to Schwarzbergplatz. Here one building immediately catches the eye, the Hotel Imperial, a noble hotel for politicians, diplomats, artists and anyone with a valid credit card.

Just behind the hotel is the building of the Vienna Musikverein , famous for its excellent acoustics and the annual New Year's concert of the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra.

From the forecourt you have a very nice view of the largest baroque church in Austria, the Karlskirche. Also blessed with good acoustics, this imposing sacred building is often used for classical and contemporary concerts.

We stay with the music and cycle on to the sunken cistern of the Vienna City Opera. It was the first completed secular building of the Ringstrasse era. From here we pass Goethe, Schiller, Mozart, to the Burgtor, behind which is the Hofburg complex and Heldenplatz.

Alls architectural counterweight function on the other side of the ring. The Museum of Art and Natural History with the Maria Theresa Monument in the middle and the Museumsquartier behind it are the architectural counterbalance on the other side of the Ring.

In less than a minute's drive we are standing in front of the next highlight, the Parliament. In front of the magnificent neoclassical building, Athena, the Greek goddess of wisdom, looks toward the Volksgarten, her back turned to the high house with its representative body of the people.

We cycle on to the Burgtheater, the former home stage of the Habsburgs, and catch sight of the Town Hall opposite with the Town Hall Square in front of it, which is used for various major events, such as the opening of the Festival Weeks, the Film Festival, the Christmas Market, the Ice Room, etc. The next imposing building is also used for this purpose.

The next imposing building is also used, mainly by the approximately 90,000 students and 10,000 employees of the University of Vienna. This university, which is over 650 years old, is the largest in Austria, the largest in the German-speaking countries and one of the largest in Europe.

Not far behind stands the Votivkirche . The neo-Gothic building on the Ringstrasse was erected in gratitude for a failed assassination attempt on the young Emperor Franz Josef. Slightly downhill we roll on, past the former stock exchange to the actual end of the Ring, marked by the Roßauer barracks on the outside and the younger Ringturm on the inside.

From here we cycle along the Danube Canal on the Franz-Josef-Kai. Worth seeing on this section is the over 1000-year-old Ruprechtskriche. Also the "unity symbol" of Austria the Stephansdom is attainable from here in few minutes.

Our ring tour is completed by the Urania, an observatory also built under the reign of Emperor Franz Josef. Here, within sight of our starting point, our short journey through time comes to a worthy conclusion.

What will happen next? The stars will tell us!

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
en_US

VelopoldVIENNA

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp

Die Ringstraßen-Tour

Unsere Tour durch das Herz Wiens!

By Ermeas

Eine kleine Zeitreise mit dem Rad.

Von unserem Shop aus erreichen Sie die Ringstraße und das Zentrum von Wien in weniger als 15 min mit dem Rad.

Auf unserer Tour bewegen wir uns entlang der Ringstraße, einem städtebaulichen Gesamtkunstwerk von ca. 5km Länge. Abseits des Straßenverkehrs fahren wir durchgehend auf Radwegen von einer Sehenswürdigkeit zur nächsten.

“Das erste Highlight ist ein monumentales Gebäude mit einem riesigen Adler auf dem Dach, das ehemalige Kriegsministerium der Habsburger, unter deren Regentschaft Wien zu den drei mächtigsten Metropolen Europas aufstieg, die aber auch das Ende der Monarchie zu verantworten hatte.”

Genau gegenüber und aus der selben Zeit stammend befindet sich eine Perle des Jugendstils von Otto Wagner , die Wiener Postsparkasse. Weiter geht es zum Cafe Prückel, einem legendären Ringstraßencafe mit einem beliebten Schanigarten, von dem aus man einem guten Blick auf das Lueger-Denkmal hat. Karl Lueger war ein populärer Bürgermeister, der viel für die Modernisierung der Stadt geleistet hat, aber heute aufgrund seines politischen Antisemitismus sehr umstritten ist.

Wir radeln weiter entlang des Stadtparks, der größten Grünoase der dichtverbauten Innenstadt, vorbei am Walzerkönig-Denkmal bis zum Schwarzbergplatz. Hier sticht ein Gebäude sofort ins Auge: das Hotel Imperial, noble Absteige für Politiker, Diplomaten, Künstler und jedermann/-frau mit gültiger Kreditkarte.

Gleich hinter dem Hotel befindet sich das Gebäude des Wiener Musikvereins, berühmt für seine exzellente Akustik und das jährliche stattfindende Neujahrkonzert der Wiener Philharmoniker.

Vom Vorplatz aus hat man einen sehr schönen Blick auf die größte Barockkirche Österreichs, die Karlskirche. Ebenfalls mit einer guten Akustik gesegnet, wird dieser imposante Sakralbau gerne für klassische, auch zeitgenössische Konzerte genutzt.

Wir bleiben bei der Musik und radeln weiter bis zur versunkenen Zisterne der Wiener Staatsoper. Es war der erste fertiggestellte Profanbau der Ringstraßen-Ära. Von hier geht es vorbei an Goethe, Schiller, Mozart zum Burgtor, hinter dem sich der Hofburgkomplex und der Heldenplatz befindet.

Als architektonisches Gegengewicht fungieren auf der anderen Seite des Rings das Kunst- und das Naturhistorische Museum mit dem Maria-Theresia-Denkmal in der Mitte und das dahinter liegende Museumsquartier.

In weniger als eine Minute Fahrzeit stehen wir vor dem nächsten Highlight, dem Parlament. Vor dem neoklassizistischen Prachtbau blickt Pallas Athene, die griechische Göttin der Weisheit, in Richtung des Volksgartens; dem Hohen Haus mit seiner Volksvertretung kehrt sie den Rücken zu.

Wir radeln weiter zum Burgtheater, der ehemaligen Hausbühne der Habsburger, und erblicken gegenüber das Rathaus mit dem davor liegenden Rathausplatz, der für diverse Groß-Events, wie Festwocheneröffnung, Filmfestival, Weihnachtsmarkt, Eistraum etc. verwendet wird.

Genutzt wird auch das nächste imposante Gebäude, hauptsächlich von den ca. 90.000 StudentInnen bzw. 10.000 MitarbeiterInnen der Universität Wien. Diese über 650 Jahre alte Hochschule ist die größte in Österreich, die größte im deutschsprachigen Raum und eine der größten in Europa.

Nicht weit dahinter steht die Votivkirche. Der neogothische Bau an der Ringstraße wurde als Dank für ein fehlgeschlagenes Attentat auf den jungen Kaiser Franz Josef errichtet. Leicht bergab rollen wir weiter, vorbei an der ehemaligen Börse bis zum eigentlichen Ende des Rings, markiert durch die Rossauerkaserne an der Außenseite und dem jüngeren Ringturm an der Innenseite.

Ab hier radeln wir entlang des Donaukanals auf dem Franz-Josef-Kai. Sehenswert auf diesem Abschnitt ist die über 1000 Jahre alte Ruprechtskriche. Auch das „Einheitssymbol“ von Österreích, der Stephansdom, ist von hier in wenigen Minuten erreichbar.

Abgeschlossen wird unsere Ringrunde von der Urania, einer ebenfalls unter der Regentschaft von Kaiser Franz Josef errichteten Sternwarte. Hier in Sichtweite unseres Ausganspunktes, findet unsere kleine Zeitreise ihren würdigen Abschluss.

Wie es weitergeht? Die Sterne werden es weisen!

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
de_DE